In 1783 tens of thousands of Loyalists, refugees from the American Revolution where they were often dubbed ‘Tories’, began arriving in Nova Scotia, St. John’s Island (later Prince Edward Island) and Québec.  In response, New Brunswick and Cape Breton Island became separate colonies; the Canada Act established Lower and Upper Canada.  By 1792 British North America had five elected assemblies.