In 1806 the Canadian Party, under Jean-Antoine Panet, Pierre-Stanislas Bédard and others, began to champion equal rights, parliamentary institutions and responsible government.  In 1844 William Henry Draper formed a government with joint premier Denis-Benjamin Viger, a former member of the Canadian Party; in 1853 its members formed the Liberal-Conservative Party.

In 1867, this Party made Canada a self-governing country by enacting Confederation under the leadership of Sir John A. Macdonald, Sir George-Étienne Cartier, Sir Charles Tupper, Sir Leonard Tilley and many others.